WelcomeAbout UsAdministrationParish AccountingEducation Resources & EventsNewsPhotosContact


Office of the
Bishop of Waikato

104 Morrinsville Road
Charlotte Brown House
Te Ara Hou Village
P O Box 21, Hamilton

Phone: 0064 7 857-0020
Fax: 0064 7 856-9975

Office of the
Bishop of Taranaki

566 Mangorei Road
R D 1, New Plymouth

Phone: 0064 6 759-1178
Fax: 0064 6 759-1180

Anglican Diocese of Waikato and Taranaki

Welcome to the Diocese of Waikato and Taranaki.

The Diocese of Waikato and Taranaki stretches from the iron sands of South Taranaki to the beautiful Bay of Plenty; some of the most spectacular and abundant land of the North Island of Aotearoa New Zealand. 

Taking its name from the mighty Waikato river and the majesty of Mt Taranaki, the Diocese honours its shared heritage with the people of Te Manawa o te Wheke and Te Upoko o te Ika.

The Diocese of Waikato was constituted in 1926. In 2010, and honouring the dream of Bishop Selwyn 165 years ago, the Diocese was renamed as the Diocese of Waikato and Taranaki.

This Diocese holds a unique place in the Anglican Communion, having two Bishoprics; the Bishopric of Waikato and the Bishopric of Taranaki.  This also means that there are two co-equal Diocesan Bishops; The Bishop of Waikato and the Bishop of Taranaki; and two Cathedrals, the Waikato Cathedral Church of St Peter and theTaranaki Cathedral Church of St Mary.

The Bishopric of Waikato is led by the Right Rev'd Dr Helen-Ann Hartley while the Bishopric of Taranaki is led by The Most Rev'd Philip Richardson, who is also the Archbishop of the New Zealand Dioceses.

To find out more visit our 'about us' page.


There is no current news.